NFIB

Be the voice of small business.

NOVEMBER 8, 2022

A Message from NFIB President Brad Close

"

Small business owners are facing significant headwinds – inflation, supply chain disruptions, a lack of qualified job applicants, and elected officials in the states and Washington, D.C. that seem to think small businesses are the problem. Small businesses need strong advocates who fight for them in state legislatures, governor's mansions, and Congress.

Buth y. Ch.

Brad Close | NFIB President

INFLATION AND WORKFORCE SHORTAGES TOP SMALL BUSINESS PROBLEMS

of small business owners reported inflation or workforce shortages as their most important problem.

SOURCE: NFIB's Small Business EconomicTrends Report, average monthly reading for January - June 2022

Be the v⊕ice of small business.

Enacting pro-small business policy begins with electing pro-small business candidates. The upcoming election is your opportunity to use your voice to fight for small business policies across the nation.

How can you be the voice of Small Business?

IDENTIFY pro-small business candidates running for office. This member-exclusive Voter Guide featuring NFIB PAC-endorsed candidates can help.

ENGAGE with these campaigns and encourage your family, friends, and those in your professional networks to support small business champions.

VOTE on or before Election Day. As you decide who to elect, remember: small business is on the ballot.

Thank you for your membership and please Be the Voice of Small Business on Election Day.

Register

October 24, 2022: Deadline for voter registration applications to be postmarked or submitted online. Election Day voter registration is also available.

Voting

No-excuse absentee ballots are available to all eligible and registered voters.

November 4, 2022: Deadline of 5:00 p.m. to request an absentee ballot online or by mail.

November 7, 2022: Early voting ends and deadline of 4:00 p.m. to request an absentee ballot in person.

November 8, 2022: Election Day and deadline of 8:00 p.m. to return absentee ballot.

ID Requirements

Identification is required for all voters.

Polling Place Details

Polling places are open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Please contact your state elections officials with questions regarding your polling location or for additional election information.

State Elections Contact Information:

Website: www.michigan.gov/sos/elections Email: Elections@Michigan.gov Phone: (517) 335-3237

Information is current as of mail date. Reminder: due to redistricting, your current representation may have changed. Contact your local elections official for more information.

As an NFIB member, you are part of an organization that works to defend your right to own, operate and grow your business, by expanding your voice in Congress and state legislatures across the nation. This communication is an exclusive benefit of your NFIB membership. It has been paid for by NFIB member donations outside of your membership dues and is authorized by the National Federation of Independent Business, NFIB.com." YOUR VOTE COULD CHANGE THE DIRECTION

OF THE COUNTRY It is crucial to be informed on the issues important to small business and vote for those candidates who support small businesses. NFIB PACs have endorsed the following candidates because they are willing to be a voice for America's small business owners and protect the families, employees, and communities that depend on them.

Endorsements are current as of mailing date.





Supreme Court Justice Brian Zahra



Supreme Court Paul Hudson



Be the **#VoiceOfSmallBusiness**

U.S. House

MI-01	Jack Bergman
MI-02	John Moolenaar
MI-04	Bill Huizenga*
MI-05	Tim Walberg
MI-07	Tom Barrett
MI-08	Paul Junge
MI-09	Lisa McClain

MI-10 John James

State Senate

District 4	Houston James
District 9	Michael Webber
District 11	Michael MacDonald
District 12	Pam Hornberger
District 13	Jason Rhines
District 14	Tim Golding
District 16	Joe Bellino
District 17	Jonathan Lindsey
District 18	Tom Albert
District 20	Aric Nesbitt
District 22	Lana Theis
District 23	Jim Runestad
District 24	Ruth Johnson

State House

District 4 Karen Whitsett District 21 David Staudt District 22 Cathryn Neracher District 27 Bob Howey District 28 Jamie Thompson District 29 lames DeSana District 30 William Bruck* District 31 Dale Biniecki District 34 Dale Zorn District 35 Andrew Fink District 36 Steve Carra District 37 Brad Paguette District 38 Kevin Whiteford District 39 Pauline Wendzel* District 40 Kelly Sackett District 42 Matt Hall District 43 Rachelle Smit District 44 Dave Morgan District 45 Sarah Lightner District 46 Kathy Schmaltz District 48 Jason Woolford District 49 Ann Bollin District 50 Bob Bezotte

District 25	Dan Lauwers*
District 26	Kevin Daley
District 28	Daylen Howard
District 29	Tommy Brann*
District 30	Mark Huizenga
District 31	Roger Victory*
District 32	Jon Bumstead
District 33	Rick Outman*
District 34	Roger Hauck
District 35	Annette Glenn
District 36	Michele Hoitenga
District 37	John Damoose
District 38	Ed McBroom*

District 52	Mike Harris
District 54	Donni Steele
District 55	Mark Tisdel
District 56	Mark Gunn
District 57	Thomas Kuhn
District 58	Michelle Smith
District 59	Doug Wozniak
District 60	Joseph Aragona
District 61	Mike Aiello
District 62	Alicia St. Germaine
District 63	Jay DeBoyer
District 64	Andrew Beeler
District 65	Jaime Greene
District 67	Phil Green
District 68	David Martin
District 72	Mike Mueller
District 73	Norm Shinkle
District 76	Angela Witwer
District 78	Gina Johnsen
District 80	Jeff Johnson
District 81	Lynn Afendoulis
District 83	Lisa DeKryger
District 84	Mike Milanowski Jr.

*Indicates Current NFIB Member

Continued on next page

State House

District 85 Bradley Slagh District 86 Nancy DeBoer District 88 Greg VanWoerkom District 89 Luke Meerman* District 90 Bryan Posthumus District 91 Patrick Outman District 92 Jerry Neyer District 93 Graham Filler District 95 Bill G. Schuette District 96 Timothy Beson District 97 Matthew Bierlein District 98 Greg Alexander District 99 Mike Hoadley District 100 Tom Kunse District 101 loe Fox District 102 Curt VanderWall District 103 Jack O'Malley District 104 John Roth District 105 Ken Borton District 106 Cam Cavitt District 107 Neil Friske District 108 David Prestin **District 109 Melody Wagner** District 110 Gregory Markkanen

*Indicates Current NFIB Member

Michigan Ballot Initiatives

Proposal 22 -1

A proposal to amend the state constitution to require annual public financial disclosure reports by legislators and other state officers and change state legislator term limit to 12 total years in legislature.

VOTE YES

VOTE NOVEMBER 8

Visit **NFIB.com/Elections** to register to vote and find your candidates or polling place.